San Diego Miramar College Technology Committee March 25, 2014 2:30pm-3:30pm Room L-108

<u>Present</u>: Daniel Miramontez, Temmy Najimy, Kurt Hill, Glenn Magpuri, Janice Hecksel, Tom Davenport, Alan Viersen, Cynthia Gilley

<u>Call to Order</u>: The meeting was called to order at 2:35 a.m. by D. Miramontez.

- 1. Welcome. D. Miramontez welcomed everyone to the meeting.
- 2. <u>Approval of Minutes</u>. It was moved by G. Magpuri, seconded by A. Viersen and carried to approve the minutes of February 25, 2014.
- 3. <u>Approval of Agenda</u>. It was moved by J. Hecksel, seconded by A. Viersen and carried to approve the agenda of March 25, 2014.

4. New Business

- New members. D. Miramontez introduced C. Gilley as the new Chemistry faculty member representing as the Academic Senate At-Large. Need clarification from Academic Senate President in regards to G. Choe and A. Viersen membership.
- <u>Technology Plan Review and Finalization</u>- D. Miramontez reported lead from ACS, AV, and ICS updated their respective areas. Committee will provide feedback and any subsequent changes to the co-chairs by April 15th. Committee will finalize and approve plan on April 22nd scheduled meeting. D. Miramontez will follow-up with K. Keyser to update OIT narrative.
- Review of Committee Membership Revision Form- R. Mojica indicated that this will be her last term serving as co-chair and opened up the idea for potential co-chairs to run for election. It was discussed by the committee and recommended sending forth a recommendation to open up the co-chair position to be any member from the committee which includes highly qualified classified positions. It was moved by G. Magpuri, seconded by A. Viersen and carried to approve forwarding membership recommendation to April 8th CGC meeting.

Technology Committee

Chair Eligibility – Co-Chairs: Faculty any member and the Dean of PRIE, Library and Technology Chair Election – Recommendation, Faculty any member co-chair elected by committee Chair Term – Two Years Committee Membership*

Administrators (2)	Classified Staff (4)	Faculty (6)	Students (1)
Dean, School of PRIE,	AV Technician	School of MBEPS (1)	Representative
Library & Tech.			
Representative	Microcomputer Specialist Super.	School of Liberal Arts (1)	
	Administrative Computing Support Specialist	School of Public Safety (1)	
	Representative	School of BTCWI (1)	
		Student Services Rep. (1)	
		Representative (1)	

^{*}The Committee will include the Instructional School Dean of PRIE, Library & Technology, the Audio/Visual Technician, the Microcomputer Specialist Supervisor, the Administrative Computing Support Specialist, six faculty representatives, one from each Instructional School, one member of student services, one Administrative Representative, one classified member at-large, one faculty member at-large and one Student.

Since this committee is composed of a large group who may not all be able to participate at every meeting the minimum Quorum is five (5) members. This shall include at least one Administrator, two Faculty, and two Classified. At all times, the entire membership shall be subject to all committee agendas, minutes and correspondence.

Committee Goals:

The mission of the Technology Committee is to provide organization, recommendations, direction, and standards for campus technology. The structure of this Committee will rely upon the operational role of the administrator to orchestrate the continued development of the on-going Technology Plan, to advocate and support Instruction and Services utilizing technology, and to coordinate funding resources to maximize technology implementation campus wide. All the above listed members are voting members but the Committee will rely heavily upon the Administrator's capacity to organize and implement recommendations.

The Committee will:

Develop and update 3-year Instructional Technology Plan

Establish technology standards and procedures for the College

Assist technology needs and priorities to support all instruction, services, and administration

Provide technology direction and oversight for the Website Sub-Committee

Provide technology expenditure recommendations to the Planning-and- Budget and Resource Development Subcommittee.

Provide direction and guidelines for Audio/Visual Department to ensure adequate Audio/Visual support.

Coordinate technology training efforts with the Staff Development Committee.

Coordinate and assist with technology planning efforts in Strategic, School and Department planning.

Provide technology data, reports and assistance for Accreditation.

Committee Procedures and Calendar:

The Committee Chairs are the advocates for the Committee and will carry forward Committee recommendations to the following committees as appropriate:

All Standing Committees for review and input as needed

Planning and Budget and Resource Development Subcommittee for technology expenditure recommendations, and

Reports from Department on New Technology Needs- C. Gilley reported Instructional Lab Technicians from her area need their computer to be updated. She inquired the process of rolled down computers and due to not having enough information on the issues of the current ILT computers, committee recommended C. Gilley to provide more information for ACS to review. Tabled to next meeting.

5. Standing Item

- Website Committee Updates- K. Hill reported the website committee is working
 on the theme of a new website. No change to content but change to style. He
 also mentioned S. Trevisan wanted the new college style to adopt the new CTE
 page style but unfortunately the sample style was not based on the CTE style.
 Website committee will need to meet further to discuss issue to direct CTE style
 and college website menu structure.
- 6. Other- None.
- 7. <u>Next Meeting</u>- April 22, 2014. Note: Committee will finalize and approve Technology Plan and forwarding to Planning Institutional Effectiveness Committee (PIEC).
- 8. Adjournment- Meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m.